Our School » School History

School History

Nestled below the iconic Hollywood Sign off the streets of Franklin Avenue and Beachwood Drive, Cheremoya Elementary has been Hollywood's community school for over 100 years. Cheremoya opened just 10 years after Hollywood was annexed to Los Angeles and only two years after the Los Angeles Aqueduct started supplying water to the area. The school's name comes from the surrounding agricultural area when in the late 1800s to early 1900s orange groves, pineapples, and cherimoya trees lined the hills of Beachwood Canyon. There are three cherimoya trees on the school's campus today. 

In the early days of the District, many schools were built in phases. Cheremoya was opened in 1915 as probably a small wooden building. Within the next few years, the school began to see remodels, alterations, and additions which would include building the main office, having a building from Los Feliz Elementary brought over to the Cheremoya site, and construction of the additional building that now houses our cafeteria, library, and upper classrooms.

The school’s distinct Spanish Revival historic architecture has made it a magnet for film and television productions. The campus was featured in the television series, “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia”.  In addition, the school was the backdrop for the title character in Janet Fitch’s #1 National Bestselling book, White Oleander.  

The beginning of our school, currently the main building.
The beginning of our school, currently the main building.
Cheremoya Ave. Elementary
Cheremoya School circa 1920
Aerial view of campus (pre-addition)
Aerial view of campus between Beachwood Avenue & Cheremoya Avenue